A problem for organizations that automate the process of course creation and enrollment involves the creation of courses that must remain unavailable, at least to a majority of students.
Moodle offers two choices to control said visibility, each with its own pros and cons:
- If a course is Visible, students may see it, even if the course is incomplete or just not supposed to be available.
- If it’s Hidden, students will not be able to find the course, even if they are supposed to. By default, an admin or other responsible role cannot see whether a course is hidden to others.
To remedy this, the Course Status Block plugin displays the visibility of a course clearly and allows users to publish or unpublish courses directly from the course page.
This means admins can create new courses to be hidden by default. Courses will only be made visible once they are ready for use, thus preventing mistaken visibility issues.
To use this plugin to prevent publishing unfinished courses, change the default setting to “hidden” under:
Site administration > Courses > Course default settings
If you would like to try the Course Status Block for yourself it can be downloaded from Moodle Plugin Directory.